Website no longer in use

Following the Annual General Meeting for the All Party Parliamentary Group on State Pension Inequality for Women the Secretariat for the group is now provided by Age UK. As they are now managing the group, this website will no longer be updated.

If you have any queries about the APPG, please direct them to .

Share Button

General Election 2019

Once the House has dissolved for the General Election, there are no MPs and no All Party Parliamentary Groups (APPG). 

Therefore the APPG on State Pension Inequality for Women does not exist while Parliament is dissolved. No reports or other communications can be issued while the House is dissolved.

Any APPGs in the new Parliament will be new organisations.

Share Button

Letter from Guy Opperman MP, Minister for Pensions

The Chairs of the APPG on State Pension Inequality for Women have received a further letter from Guy Opperman MP, Minister for Pensions clarifying the process of the DWP complaints, the Independent Case Examiner and the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman, in light of the Judaical Review.

A full copy of this letter can be seen below.

Share Button

Letter to Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Pensions and Financial Inclusion

Carolyn Harris MP and Tim Loughton MP wrote to Guy Opperman MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Pensions and Financial Inclusion at the Department for Work and Pensions, in their capacity as Co-Chairs of the APPG on State Pension Inequality for Women.

In the letter they asked how 1950s women pension cases, which were under review by the Independent Case Examiner, can continue to be reviewed.  These cases have been closed as a result of the High Court granting permission for a Judicial Review into the Department for Work and Pensions handling of the change to women’s state pension age.

A copy of this letter is below.

We have now had a response to the letter which clarifies that the DWP have temporarily suspended action on current and future complaints until the final court decision in the judicial review. It also shares that the Independent Case Examiner has closed all live State Pension age complaints.

Please see the full response below:

We are seeking a meeting with Guy Opperman to discuss this further.

Share Button

Minutes of APPG on State Pension Inequality for Women AGM 23.10.18


Tim Loughton MP (Co-Chair), Carolyn Harris MP (Co-Chair), Chris Elmore MP (Secretary), Douglas Ross MP, Scott Mann MP, John Woodcock MP, Mike Kane MP, Coleen Fletcher MP, Louise Haigh MP, Yvonne Fovargue MP, Douglas Chapman MP, Martin Docherty-Hughes MP, Helen Goodman MP, Peter Aldous MP, Justin Madders MP ,Chi Onwurah MP , Wayne David MP, Christine Jardine MP


Ian Blackford MP, David Drew MP, David Hanson MP, Valerie Vaz MP ,Ann Clwyd MP, Stephen Lloyd MP, George Howarth MP, Ed Vaizey MP, Phillipa Whitford MP, Thelma Walker MP, Bob Neill MP, Ian Mearns MP, Tracey Crouch MP , Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Gordon Henderson MP, Jeremy Corbyn MP, Sarah Champion MP, Mark Menzies MP, Jeff Smith MP, Tommy Sheppard MP, Alan Brown MP, John McNally MP, Catherin McKinnel MP, Mark Prisk MP, Catherine McKinnell MP


Carolyn Harris MP (CH) opened the meeting and welcomed all of the attendees and started the AGM.

CH and Tim Lougton MP (TL) shared that they were happy to remain as Co-Chairs of the group and were re-elected to these positions, unopposed. All of the other Officers of the APPG were re-elected unopposed to their positions.

The AGM concluded.

CH and TL then provided an update on the Pensions (Review of Women’s Arrangements) (No. 2) Bill 2017-19, which is still waiting to be scheduled in the House of Commons. He shared that there is a backlog of legislation waiting to be scheduled so it may take a while. There will be four extra sitting Friday’s so they will try and get the Bill scheduled for then.

It was clarified that the objective of the APPG was the private members bill.

Meeting Closed.

Actions – a copy of the Private Members Bill is to be circulated among the group, with the report published by the House of Commons library.

Share Button